Skip to Main Content

See our latest COVID-19 updates.

Department of Earth
and Space Sciences

ESS Faculty and Staff

Dr. Floyd Jackson

Dr. Floyd Jackson

Position: Interim Chair
Office: Jordan Hall 103A
Phone: 706-569-3031
Email: jackson_floyd@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Clinton Barineau

Dr. Clinton Barineau

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 218
Phone: 706-507-8092
Email: barineau_clinton@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Structural Geology and Tectonics, Proterozoic-Paleozoic history of eastern North America
Personal Website     

Dr. Warren Church

Dr. Warren Church

Position: Professor
Endowed Title: Program Director for Anthropology
Office: Jordan Hall 232
Phone: 706-507-8093
Email: church_warren@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Environmental Anthropology, South American Archaeology; Pre-Hispanic cultural geography; Complex Societies; Geoarchaeology

Dr. Shawn Cruzen

Dr. Shawn Cruzen

Position: Executive Director of the Coca-Cola Space Science Center/Professor
Office: Space Science Center 123
Phone: 706-649-1785
Email: cruzen_shawn@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Extragalactic Astrophysics, Observational Cosmology, Active Galactic Nuclei, Informal Science Education

Dr. Zdeslav Hrepic

Dr. Zdeslav Hrepic

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 205
Phone: 706-569-3052
Email: hrepic_zdeslav@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Physics, Physics Education
Personal Website     

Dr. Troy Keller

Dr. Troy Keller

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 219
Phone: 706-507-8099
Email: keller_troy@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Stream ecology; stream restoration; sustainable energy resources
Personal Website     

Dr. David Schwimmer

Dr. David Schwimmer

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 230
Phone: 706-569-3028
Email: schwimmer_david@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Vertebrate Paleontology, Cambrian Biostratigraphy, Cretaceous Paleoecology

Dr. Abiye Seifu

Dr. Abiye Seifu

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 228
Phone: 706-568-2187
Email: seifu_abiye@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Engineering

Dr. Kimberly Shaw

Dr. Kimberly Shaw

Position: Professor/UTeach Science Co-Director
Office: Jordan Hall 111
Phone: 706-507-8344
Email: shaw_kimberly@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Physics, Physics Education

Dr. Rosa Williams

Dr. Rosa Williams

Position: Professor/Mead Observatory Director
Office: Jordan Hall 202
Phone: 706-649-1474
Email: williams_rosa@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Astronomy, Supernovae Remnants, Magellanic Cloud Galaxies

Dr. Stacey Blersch

Dr. Stacey Sloan Blersch

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: Lenoir Hall Annex 117
Phone: 706-507-8068
Email: blersch_stacey@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Hydrology, Ecohydrology

Dr. Andrew Puckett

Dr. Andrew Puckett

Position: Associate Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 206
Phone: 706-507-8098
Email: puckett_andrew@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Physics & Astronomy; Solar System Astronomy; Small bodies in the Solar System; Transneptunian objects (TNOs); Astronomy Education and Outreach
Personal Website     

Dr. Lavi Zamstein

Dr. Lavi Zamstein

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 220
Phone: 706-507-8089
Email: zamstein_lavi@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Engineering and Robotics

Ms. Danielle Cook

Ms. Danielle Cook

Position: Lecturer
Office: Jordan Hall 226
Phone: 706-507-8063
Email: cook_danielle@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Physical Anthropology, Forensic Archaeology, Osteology, Bioarchaeology

 Diana Faulkner

Diana Faulkner

Position: Part-Time Faculty
Office: Unknown
Email: faulkner_diana@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Mohammad H Hasan

Dr. Mohammad H Hasan

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: Lenoir Hall Annex 120
Phone: 706-507-8179
Email: hhasan_mohammad@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Engineering and Robotics

Dr. Mahmut Reyhanoglu

Dr. Mahmut Reyhanoglu

Position: Professor and Director
Office: Lenoir Hall Annex 102A
Phone: 706-507-8154
Email: reyhanoglu_mahmut@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Engineering and Robotics
Bio